I/Eye: On Photography

Head in the clouds

Posted in Heavens by Sheila Newbery on June 7, 2010

I try to get as close as I can…. I have access to five roof-tops in Berkeley, but on occasion I’ve shot clouds from street-level (though this can be dangerous, since concentrating on the gigantic energy of the sky isn’t compatible with keeping an eye on traffic).

This image was shot on film on my medium-format Hasselblad (with a 150mm lens). The lens varies, depending on the scene, and many a shot is lost from not getting to the right glass in time….

Cloud study (Berkeley, 2010) © Sheila Newbery

Cloud study (Berkeley, 2010) © Sheila Newbery

Leave a Reply

